How to Stop Psyching Yourself Out When You Need Confidence Fast

Marisa Mohi
5 min readSep 26, 2022

Being a human being is playing head games with yourself under the best circumstances. And you don’t always win. Knowing how to stop psyching yourself out in a pinch can help you live to fight another day in those head games.

I am a person who remembers the nineties with fondness and confusion as to how we got through life without GPS or cell phones. To sike, or psych yourself out was a crime. Only could the biggest of school bus bullies sike you out. And that bully also had to yell “SIKE” while doing it.

The psych yourself out meaning I’m after today is the one where you’re in your head. The most common don’t psych yourself out synonym these days is get out of your own way, but I’m not a white influencer, so I don’t feel comfortable saying that.

Instead, I want to talk about how to stop psyching yourself out when you don’t have a lot of time to do the work.

And as always, remember, it doesn’t have to be perfect. Like everything else on this blog, we are going to do this shit real messy.

The Long Journey of Not Psyching Yourself Out

I have this whole post on how I learned to not psych myself out and it’s definitely good if you’re on a journey to learn to trust your gut and follow…

--

--

Marisa Mohi

novelist, blogger, and tarot reader | former tech writer, college instructor, and instructional designer | black coffee or GTFO | https://marisamohi.com