How to Write 10,000 Words a Day

Marisa Mohi
6 min readApr 20, 2022

In my heyday, I cranked out 10,000 words a day regularly. I didn’t want to, but my job required it of me. It mostly sucked, but I learned what I needed to do to make it happen regularly.

Every writer is different, so the things that make it easy for me to write 10,000 words a day may not be the same things that work for you. And the more I get to know myself, the more I realize what I need for a good writing session has less to do with the act of writing than it does with enabling a hyper fixation.

Knowing the conditions you thrive under is important, and your girl is a monomaniac.

I’ve given some tips for writing 10,000 words a day before, but I thought I’d share some more insight on the topic.

Do You Have to Write 10,000 Words a Day?

In short, no. If writing a bunch in one day isn’t your thing, then don’t worry about.

I know it can seem like all the writers talk about doing this sort of thing. And many of us have to to hit deadlines. I think the most I’ve ever managed in a day was right around the 17,000 mark, and it didn’t feel great.

But if you have the freedom and privilege to write slowly, then take it. The work I do for myself usually takes longer than the work I do for clients simply because I get to…

--

--

Marisa Mohi

novelist, blogger, and tarot reader | former tech writer, college instructor, and instructional designer | black coffee or GTFO | https://marisamohi.com