Productivity Hack: My Life is in Shambles

Marisa Mohi
5 min readJun 20, 2022

We’ve all heard that old chestnut about how saying yes to one thing is saying no to another, right? Well, I get asked a lot about how I devote so much time to this blog or writing fiction. And the answer is my life is in shambles!

Basically, I say yes to chaos and no to order.

Here’s the deal, fam. You can have a clean house with organized closets or you can follow your dream. And while I love the idea of living in a home that gets vacuumed every single day with a sink that never has dishes sitting in it, I would rather write books.

So if you’ve been laboring under the notion that I have it all together, or that anyone can do it all, you’re mistaken. And to that point, everyone has an area of their life that is an absolute mess.

Maybe it’s their home. Maybe it’s their personal relationships. Maybe it’s their taxes.

No one has it all together.

Sure, they say the way you do one thing is the way you do everything. But that’s a lot of bullshit. And I would bet even money that the person who came up with that saying had someone at home taking care of all the shit they didn’t want to do when they were doing everything else the way they do it.

Behind every ableist productivity hack or minimalist trend of how to work, there’s a…

--

--

Marisa Mohi

novelist, blogger, and tarot reader | former tech writer, college instructor, and instructional designer | black coffee or GTFO | https://marisamohi.com