The Problem With “It’s Never Too Late” Sayings

Marisa Mohi
5 min readMay 9, 2022

I am a fan of fresh starts and second chances. You get as many of those in life as you want. But we need to talk about the problem with “it’s never too late” sayings and how maybe they’re stopping you from doing what you’re meant to do.

Do I believe it’s never too late for everything in life? Nope. My joints sound like sand when I get up in the morning and I have like a quarter of the energy and healing ability I had when I was a teenager.

Ergo, it’s too late for me to start training to be a professional athlete.

In fact, there are windows of time when you need to go for things. There are some things that can only be done during certain seasons of life, and that’s okay.

Like, if you showed me a professional athlete’s diet plan today, I’d shake my head and go eat some cheesy potato soup in a bread bowl. I’ve got other concerns in life right now, and they are mostly carbs and dairy.

But I still work out and set physical goals. Because it’s never too late for me to do that. And there are tons of adult intramural sport leagues where I live, so I can still play any game I’m interested in.

Sure, I can’t do it on the professional level, but then again, neither can the vast majority of people. I can still play though, and it’s never too late for…

--

--

Marisa Mohi

novelist, blogger, and tarot reader | former tech writer, college instructor, and instructional designer | black coffee or GTFO | https://marisamohi.com